Subhas Pattanayak Stressed on Revival of the District in Athgarh Vikash Parisad

From: Lalatendu Senapati

During the Puja celebrations, Athgarh Vikash Parisad, a noted pressure group of Athgarh, had a special interaction of its members with eminent persons of the area that usually reside outside.

With Prof. Artabandhu Mishra in the chair, Chief Guest Subhas Chandra Pattanayak reminded the people of Athgarh of their lost District that was created after merger of the four sister Garjat States: Athgarh, Tigiria, Baramba and Narasinghpur with the province of Orissa in 1948; and called upon them to put top priority on its revival, as the District status would ensure flow of necessary funds from the State and Central pool for development of the four ex-States. He called upon the people to revolt against the discrimination they have been subjected to, as all the ex-States like Nayagarh that were formed into Districts after the State merger, but subsequently dismantled, have got back their district status, except the four States that had then comprised the Narasinghpur District.

He and Guest of Honor Satya Prakash Patnaik, the Managing Director of the Nilachal Ispat Nigam Ltd unveiled Prayas, the souvenir brought out on the occasion.

Decision to march ahead with corresponding commitment to the decision would help to have the target fulfilled, said Satya Prakash, who hails from Khuntukata, a village near Athgarh town.

All the guests on the dais recalled the glorious past of Athgarh when she was a center of culture-tourism attracting people from all over India to not only Dhabaleswar, but also to various shrines and landscapes spangling the entire State. They recalled also the contributions Athgarh had made to India’s freedom struggle through leaders like Radhanath Rath, Braja Kishore Pattanayak, Lingaraj Jena, Govind Chandra Mishra, Duryodhan Jena, Achyutanand Dash, Arjun Sahani, Gopal Chandra Sahani, Ksetrabasi Subuddhi, Anant Charan Beura, Bairagi Charan Pratihari, Ramachandra Sahu, Chakradhar Behera, and Nanda Kishore Pattanayak et al.

In his presidential speech, Prof. Mishra juxtaposed ‘Bipulashcha Prithvi’ (unfathomable earth) with ‘Bahulashcha Vidya’ (infinite knowledge) counting on matching correlation between resources and needs under the vexing canopy of survival and development.

Parisad advisor Adwait Charan Panda, in introducing the event, had focused on the necessity of unity of the people amidst socio-political diversity in order to achieve common goals for development of the area.

Parisad President Ramnarayan Mohanty’s excellent coordination and the local artists’ singing glory to Athgarh made the event real grand.

In the audience, eminent persons like Dr Durga Charan Mohanty, President, Budhijibi Sangha Athgarh; Sj. Pranakrushna Das, President, Bar Association, Athgarh; Sj. Pratap Rudra Beuray, Eminent Social Worker; Dr Rajib Mohapatra, G.M., Balasore Ferro Alloys; Dr Durga Prasad Misra, G.M., Nilachal Ispat Nigam Limited; Sj. Swadhin Panda, Security Officer, Nilachal Ispat Nigam Limited; Sj. Pradwait Mishra, Senior Manager; Sj. Narendra Bar, Director, Culture, Govt. of India; Sj. Narasingh ayak, Retd. D.I.; Sj. Kiran Bihari Khatua, President Dhabaleswar Seba Sanstha; Sj. Pradipta Kumar Jena, S.D.P.O., Athgarh; Prof. Jatin Nayak of English, Utkal University; Er Bimal Mishra; Sj. Jagadananda Tripathy, Secretary, Bar Association, Athgarh; Sj. Bibhuti Bhusan Mishra, Senior Congress Leader; Sj. Bikram Das, Senior BJP Leader; Mrs Pravat Nalini Patra, Retd Teacher; Sj. Sudhi Ranjan Dash, Reporter, The Samaj; and Sj. Chitta Ranjan Das, Retd. Judicial Officer were conspicuous by their presence.

0 comments » Write a comment

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.