Orissa enters a new phase; the new Ministry may serve her well

Subhas Chandra Pattanayak

Ahead of oath-taking as members of the Legislative Assembly,the members of the new Ministry of Orissa have taken constitutional oath on May 29 in a very expensive showy ceremony, for the first time outside the Rajbhawan, in the exhibition ground, where Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was felicitated as Priya Oriya after defeating a four-years-old slum-dweller boy Buddhia Singh in a popularity contest stage managed by a non-Oriya owned ETV. The boy, who by that time had attracted world attention as record braking youngest marathon runner, was crushed to total collapse of his natural ability by misuse of law by the then Child-Development Minister and his celebrated coach Biranchi Das was eliminated in such circumstances the real cause of which has not yet been convincingly put on records. The title Priya Oriya has remained his exclusive till now, as no such contests has ever been organised by the same media or any of its Avatars.

But, plutocracy and its practitioners and tentacles have helped him stay the Priya Oriya, which has been proved by his awe-inspiring victory in the elections that has made him the CM for the fifth time without break. The Ministers he has made are empowered with portfolios as per his preference.

While welcoming them all to their respective responsibilities, we hope that they would serve Orissa with better management of the bureaucracy, which, perceived generally,had kept the preceding ministries docile, to the total detriment of democratic pride of the people.

Allocation of portfolios to members of the ministry is prerogative of the CM that may change as and when the CM desires. But we may say, that the present allocation is well thought.

The Cabinet Ministers:

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik: Home, General Administration & Public Grievance
and any other
Department specifically not assigned
Niranjan Pujari: Finance, Excise
Bikram Keshari Arukha: Forest & Environment, Parliamentary Affairs
Prafulla Kumar Mallick: Steel & Mines, Works
Ranendra Pratap Swain: Food Supplies & Consumer Welfare, Co-operation
Padmanabha Behera: Planning & Convergence, Commerce & Transport
Pratap Jena: Panchayati Raj & Drinking Water, Law, Housing & Urban
Arun Kumar Sahoo: Agriculture & Farmers’ Empowerment, Fisheries & Animal
Resources Development, Higher Education
Sudam Marndi: Revenue & Disaster Management
Susanta Singh: Rural Development, Labour & Employees’ State Insurance
Naba Kisore Das: Health & Family Welfare
Tukuni Sahu: Women & Child Development and Mission Shakti

Ministers of State (Independent Charge):

Jagannath Sarka: S.T. & S.C. Development, Minorities & Backward Classes Welfare
Dibya Shankar Mishra: Energy; Industries; Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
Ashok Chandra Panda: Science & Technology, Public Enterprises, Social Security &
Empowerment of Persons with Disability
Samir Ranjan Das: School & Mass Education
Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi: Tourism; Odia Language, Literature & Culture
Premananda Nayak: Skill Development & Technical Education
Raghunandan Das: Water Resources, Information & Public Relations
Padmini Dian: Handlooms, Textiles & Handicrafts
Tusharkanti Behera: Electronics & Information Technology, Sports & Youth Services

4 comments » Write a comment

  1. It depends on the policy of current Govt and the mentality of bureaucrats.

    Primarily Odisha needs a new education policy where Odia language,history
    Geography,culture and statesman of Odisha should be given top priority & importance.
    Standard and infrastructure of Odia medium schools must be improved.
    Recruitment of Odia teachers should be done without any hindrance.
    Corruption must be stopped in recruitment process and talent should be the only

    Odia should be compulsory in Administration,judiciary,employment with
    punishment measures.

    Complete reformation is required in electronics and print media
    regarding use of Odia language.

    All the advertisements,name plates,hoardings(both private & Govt) should be
    in Odia language in Odisha.

    Names of various cities like Balasore,Berhampur must be changed to their original
    names(Baleswar,Brahmapur) and pronunciation.

    State Govt should immediately open the Central Institute of Classical Odia and Odia
    University as purposed earlier.They have already taken 15 years time(since 2004 ,Odia
    language received classical tag)to open these Institutes.

    State Govt has already preserved it’s vote bank by implementing populist schemes like “KALIA”
    and appeasing SHG groups(many more schemes and tactics) but the core interests of Odisha have been neglected which may lead to disaster.

    Ex: Mahanadi,Brahmani,Polavaram disputes,unemployment,negligence of agriculture
    sector,road railway infrastructure development,negligence of tourism sector etc.
    Till date centre and state are showing little interest to complete Balangir-Khordha Road
    and Bhubaneswar metro rail projects.Coastal Highway is a important project and
    need to be completed at the earliest.

    Creation of employment in Government as well as in private sector is an important issue.
    Every day thousands of unemployed youths/people of Odisha migrating to other states in search of job or
    livelihood.They are getting humiliated and neglected in many ways in other states and areas.
    While non-Odia and Bangladeshi populations are increasing day by day and being used
    as vote bank by the politicians of Odisha.

    Therefore,Odisha Govt should increase the maximum age limit in state Govt jobs as many states
    in India have already done it and Odia first policy should be followed in private recruitments in Odisha.
    Many national level institutes like AIIMS,IIT,IIM,IISER,NISER are giving priority to non-Odia in recruitment
    process by neglecting the local talents.

    Finally,a second agriculture University should be opened in KBK region of Odisha.
    Organisations like Odisha bridge construction corporation should be revived and adequate
    importance should be given instead of private contractors.

    Road accident and drunken driving are the major issues in Odisha.

    Public transport system should be revived in Odisha and the model of Tamil nadu and Maharashtra
    can be followed.



  2. Odia version should be available in google search engine.

    Odisha should have it’s own public sector bank (like Bank of Kalinga or Odisha)
    and it’s Head Office should be located in Odisha.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.